no one line


Time Off
April 26, 2010, 12:26 am
Filed under: no one line

Loyal readers – I have a few of those, you know – will notice my decreasing frequency in posts. It’s spring – I’m out racing bikes, working two jobs, and working on the intricacies of life.

So I’ve decided to formalize some time off from writing No One Line, lest I leave anybody wondering.

I’ll leave you all with some parting thoughts.

  • I think it’s pretty funny to be yelled at for not pulling through when my teammate is off the front. Of course I’m not going to work.
  • Not everybody who wins a race is a sandbagger. Therefor, it’s stupid to call everyone who wins a race a sandbagger who should upgrade. But people persist on the illogical notion that the only winners are undeserving ones.
  • On a recovery day a few weeks ago, I felt like I had something to prove, so I went and I rode up “my climb” over a minute faster than I had ever done before. This satisfies me that I’m making some progress. Pyramid intervals reinforce that. I”ve been trying to shock my legs to life.
  • It’s been a really cool Spring Classics season.
  • Something happened, and, I, uh, I think I’m a Cadel Evans fan. It feels strange to admit it, but lately I’ve been rooting for the guy!
  • In amateur races, what’s the point of wheel support if they won’t pace you back to the field?
  • In response to the search term that apparently brought one Internet User to this blog (“Was Marco Pantani a good sprinter?”): Marco Pantani was a climber.

I’ll be back – when I’m ready. In the meantime, make sure you balance miles per hour with smiles per hour.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“What’s the point of wheel support if they won’t pace you back to the field?”

+a zillion. I got a flat at Battenkill, then got yelled at for drafting an officials car. WTF?

Comment by Karl

re: Cadel, me too, it’s weird.
Have fun! coming to opening weekend?

Comment by billytall

You bet! I’ll see you there.

Comment by nooneline

Your projected absence saddens me. I can only hope that part of the reason is that you’re focusing on new chapters for your excellent work in progress. Don’t let that languish — you’re on to something very good!

Comment by velosopher

V – indeed. Right now, what I want to write is limited to two things: that work in progress, and stuff that brings me a paycheck.

Comment by nooneline




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

