no one line


Fenders. Or, Cyclocross Season is Over
December 1, 2009, 5:26 pm
Filed under: cyclocross, training

I’ve made a great step as a cyclist. I put full fenders on a bike. “Wait, how can this be?” you ask. “You’ve never had fenders on a bike?” Nope. I’ve had those mediocre clip-on affairs attached to the seatpost of my daily riders, but even after spending winters working outdoors, on my bicycle, I’ve never had a full set. Because, until now, I’ve never had a bike that has provisions for full fenders.

This means that cyclocross season is over. My right forearm is still sore from hoisting the bike – my shoulder is bruised from the beach run at yesterday’s StatenCX (last year’s race in Staten Island was my first cross race). I’ve compiled some good results, and some terrible ones. And I’ve had a few damn good weekends.

I’ve got a handful of 4th place finishes under my belt, and some more experience, which will be helpful for next year, if I decide to go for a full season. Cheshire, last weekend, was a miserably technical course with a brutally long run-up. Spooky ‘Cross, in Easthampton, MA, had plenty of racecourse on fast, hardpacked trails. I’ve made it to the far end of a sandpit on my bike. And I even won a frame from the kind folks at Spooky, which I can’t wait to pick up, build up, and tear around on. I’ll go with their Skeletor.

This morning, my sweetheart and I went on a cold two hour ride in twenty-something temperatures as the sun was climbing over the hills that ring the river valley. I anticipate being able to ride even in the rain – hey, even Cavendish fenderizes and utilitizes his bike for the winter -since it’s time to update the old training spreadsheet, think about base periods and build periods and weekly hours, and ride with an eye for the 2010 road season.

I’ve got hills around here. I’ve got time. Come April, I’m going to be lean and mean.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

