no one line


Easy Friday
February 12, 2010, 8:13 pm
Filed under: fun, General, road bikes
I went out for an “easy ride” today, planning on one and a half or two hours of steady riding. It’s still February, and though the weather is a sunny, gorgeous 34deg, there’s still a bunch of winter left until a long spring. It’s too early for intensity.
I left the house and, after a few miles of cruising through town’s traffic, found myself on farm roads in the river valley, heading north. The wind was slamming in to me, so I had to retreat to my drops and, if I wanted to make any progress at all, put my head down and grind my way up the road. So I did.
Friel says that the most common training problem is going too hard on easy days and going too easy on hard days. Oops.
Well, the wind didn’t abate. I counted pedal strokes and imagined myself in a very Euro field-shredding echelon. When I reached the Out of my Out and Back, I decided to turn in to the hills, do a bit of climbing, and then ride the Frost Heave Rodeo back down into town rather than deal with those vicious crosswinds any more.
It’s a nice way to spend a Friday.
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

For me there are no hard and fast rules… just be flexible with the given situation and have fun…

Comment by sonny




Leave a Reply

