no one line


Springtime
February 22, 2010, 10:46 pm
Filed under: General

It’s springtime, it’s not springtime.

A few days of 35+ degree temperatures got me outside for long hours in the past three days. After two and a half hours solo on Saturday, a chance encounter with a local buddy (detailed here) offered another hour or so of riding, and he showed me some new-to-me roads through the mountains that, in accordance with his description, made me practically whoop for joy. Swooping, arcing, rolling, descending. There’s nothing like it in New York City. I was happy for the company. We parted ways and I limped home another fifteen miles into a headwind, thinking fondly of food.

On Sunday, I went for a recovery ride, and instead, found myself tackling 1400 feet of elevation gain in about 8 miles. For the descent, of course. And today, truly on a recovery ride, I kept it in the 23 spinning up hills while my riding partner put me in the gutter on crosswinds and dropped me on highway overpasses.

Spring is coming. Sure, we’ll have more frost, and maybe another dump of snow in early April, or a March filled with cold rain. But spring is coming. I’m gluing up my race tubulars and ordering some more embrocation for those happy days when I can shed my legwarmers.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Light in the sky at 6:10 last night. I’m theorizing that the next three days of snow are the last gasp.

Hang tough!

Comment by Velosopher

Makes my heart ache to know it’s on its way. First race of 2010 is at Bethel next Sunday – Yee Haw!!!

Comment by Suitcase of Courage

I’m so psyched! I can’t make Bethel but I’ll be at Plainville.

Comment by nooneline




Leave a Reply

